History of Slovenia

Slovenia is a small but geographically diverse country in central Europe. As a matter of fact, this country is at the crossroads of Central and Southeastern Europe.

The Slovenes are a South Slavic people with a unique language. For most of its history, the country was largely controlled by the Austrian regimes. They have ruled the Holy Roman Empire and its successor states, the Austrian Empire and Austria-Hungary. On the other hand, the coastal parts were ruled by Venice.

In short, the specific Slovene ethnic identity dates back to the 16th century. At this time, the Slovene people have written their first books in their own language. Of course, it was also the beginning of the specific Slovene language.

As a result of World War I, Austria-Hungary was defeated and broke up. This has allowed Slovenia to declare itself an independent nation. The country joined together with Montenegro, Serbia, and Croatia in December of 1918. Consequently, the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes was formed. Later in 1929, they were renamed to Yugoslavia.

As part of Yugoslavia, the country came under communist rule for most of the post-World War II period. With the dissolution of the Yugoslav federation in 1991., things have changed for Slovenia.

Comparatively, this country was always the wealthiest region in Yugoslavia. Because of that, the transition from a communist economy to a free market one happened quickly.

In conclusion, Slovenia is a small piece of heaven waiting to be discovered by travelers from all around the world. Besides its beautiful capital city Ljubljana, you can see much more. You can go through the breathtaking Julian Alps, all the way to the Adriatic coastline. You will be surprised by this hidden gem in every single aspect, rest assured.

Geography of Slovenia

Outside the coast, Slovenia’s terrain consists mostly of karstic plateaus and ridges, breathtaking Alpine peaks, and valleys. The only major flat area is in the northeast of the country.

If we look from above, you can imagine the country in four regions. Firstly, there is the Alpine region. It takes up about two-fifths of Slovenia’s surface area. Here we can see its highest peak, Mount Triglav, at 2,864 meters of elevation.

Secondly, in the southwest of the country, you can find the Kras or Karst. This region is dotted with caves and underground rivers.

The next region is Subpannonia, fertile land in eastern and northeastern Slovenia. This region covers the valleys of the Mura, Drava and Sava rivers. 

The fourth recognizable region is Primorska or the Slovene Littoral. It consists of the Istrian Peninsula, the Adriatic hinterland, and the Soča and Vipava river valleys. Certainly, it’s important to remember that the 47-kilometer strip of coast is also Slovenia’s riviera.

When it comes to the climate, Slovenia divides into three climatic zones. In Istria, we recognize a moderate continental climate. Here, the highest monthly precipitation occurs in spring and autumn. Meanwhile, the highest temperatures occur in June and July. Winter temperatures rarely drop below 10 °C but can be sometimes lower. This is thanks to the strong, cold northerly wind called the bora.

Similarly, the central and northern parts of the country have a continental “cool summer” climate. Monthly summer rainfall in the cool belt is more than 80 mm, and high temperatures average around 20 °C.

Meanwhile, the east and northeast have much less overall precipitation, and midsummer highs reach 21 °C.

Map of Slovenia

Slovenia Tours


press ENTER to search or ESC to close

Talk To Us

How can we help you?

join the family

Subscribe to our mailing list